Print logo

lapping; CC0 Creative Commons; pixabay

Country Profile

Area: 112.620 km²

Capital: Porto-Novo

Economic Capital: Cotonou

Population: 10,160,556 (2014)

Official Language: French


GDP per capita: $1,900 (2014), $1,800 (2013)

Growth Rate of GDP: 5,5% (2014), 5,6% (2013), 5,4% (2012)

Inflation rate: -0,9% (2014), 1% (2013)

Currency: Franc CFA


Political system: Republic under multiparty democratic rule

Government system: presidential

Chief of State and Head of Government: Dr. Yayi Boni (since March 2006)

Legislative: National Assembly, composed of 83 seats renewed every 5 years

Executive: President of the Republic (mandate for 5 years)/ Government: Prime minister Pascal Koupaki

Judiciary: Constitutional Court, High Court of Justice, Supreme Court, Court of Audit

Institutions of the Republic: Beninese Human Rights Comission, Economic and Social Council, High Authority of Audio-visual and Communication, Mediation of the Republic, High Commissariat for concerted governance


The Republic of Benin is member of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD), and the African Union (AU).

Source: CIA World Factbook